2023 general election

26 Dec 2023
Take a look back at the 14 May 2023 general election, now seen as a watershed event in Thai politics after the Move Forward party came out top of the poll and Pheu Thai polled second for the first time in its history. Many academics said that structural changes and and demands for a welfare state has become the new political normal. Meanwhile young working class voters no longer believe in the old political elite network, instead looking to politicians who offer inclusive policies that can provide them with long-term security.
12 Oct 2023
The Move Forward Party emerged top of the poll in the 2023 election, winning in provinces that were once Pheu Thai strongholds. What made Pheu Thai supporters shift their allegiances? Three Red Shirt protesters tell us about why they now vote Move Forward.
11 Sep 2023
Pongsathon Sornphetnarin, the Move Forward Party’s candidate, won in the by-election for Rayong’s 3rd Constituency on Sunday (10 September), beating the second most popular candidate by over 10,000 votes.
11 Sep 2023
After the May 2023 general election, the eight-party coalition led by the Move Forward Party signed an MOU to form a democratic government, but the document was revoked when Pheu Thai left the coalition along with the Prachachat Party, an influential party in the Deep South, to form a coalition with parties under strong military influence. Hara Shintaro writes on the impact of revoking the MOU on the peace process in the Deep South and the possibility of rebuilding trust in the process under the current political situation.
25 Aug 2023
ASEAN Parliamentarians for Human Rights (APHR) issued a statement today (25 August) welcoming the appointment of Srettha Thavisin as Thailand's new Prime Minister and urging the new government to fulfill promise of change and pave the way for genuine democracy that respects rights of all.
23 Aug 2023
After parliament elected Pheu Thai Party’s candidate Srettha Thavisin as Thailand’s new Prime Minister, the Move Forward party (MFP) announced that it will work as an opposition party committed to bringing change to Thai society. MFP Secretary-General Chaithawat Tulathon speaking during yesterday's press conference (22 August), joined by other MFP MPs.
3 Aug 2023
The Prime Ministerial vote, previously scheduled for this Friday (4 August), has been postponed as the Constitutional Court has yet to rule on the petition asking whether prohibiting repeated nominations of candidates for Prime Minister is unconstitutional.
28 Jul 2023
The Thammasat University Student Union (TUSU) organized a protest on Wednesday (26 July) at Thammasat University’s Rangsit campus against attempts by the Senate and the Constitutional Court to block Move Forward Party leader Pita Limjaroenrat from becoming Prime Minister despite his party winning the election.
26 Jul 2023
While protests continue to spring up across the country, overseas Thai communities in at least four countries have also held demonstrations over the weekend to demand that the Senate and the Constitutional Court respect the result of the election.
25 Jul 2023
As government formation remains in deadlock, protests have been taking place across the country against attempts to block the Move Forward Party from leading a government and demanding the resignation of the Senate. Activists also demand that the Pheu Thai Party, now tasked with forming a government, not bring into the coalition any parties that supported leaders of the 2014 coup.
25 Jul 2023
The Office of the Ombudsman has filed a petition with the Constitutional Court, requesting a ruling in the case of the parliament’s rejection the renomination of Pita Limjaroenrat, the PM candidate from the Move Forward Party.
24 Jul 2023
The Pheu Thai Party (PTP), the party now tasked with forming a government, has commenced negotiations with other parties after the previous coalition found itself in a deadlock following a perplexing defeat during the second nomination of Move Forward Party (MFP) leader Pita Limcharoenrat for Prime Minister on July 19, when parliament voted to block individuals from being nominated more than once.


Subscribe to 2023 general election